The mission of the University of Arkansas Office for Sustainability (OFS) is to motivate, facilitate, and coordinate innovation and change through partnerships with faculty, students, and staff across administrative units to create a culture of sustainability.

The OFS uses the campus as a living laboratory for innovation by overseeing the implementation of the University of Arkansas Sustainability Goals. The OFS works with the community to share best practices, evaluate policies, and recommend programs to build a more resilient Fayetteville. Together, we work to inspire students and future leaders as we facilitate coordination of research initiatives to expand our knowledge of sustainability solutions.


AASHE STARS gold logo Bee Campus USA logo bicycle friendly university US Green Building Council princeton review. A guid to green schools

Sustainability timeline


Razorback Recycling program established


Innovation Center becomes first LEED-certified Building in Arkansas


UA is among the first institutions to sign the American College & University President's Climate Commitment - pledging to become climate neutral by 2040.


Three ESPC contracts are completed, representing an over $50 million investment in energy and cost-saving measures across campus


The first UA Climate Action Plan is ratified


The university achieves AASHE STARS Silver


UA publishes the Integrated Pest Management Plan.

The UA is named a Bicycle Friendly University - honorable mention


Combined Heat and Power System comes online

UA is awarded Bicycle Friendly University - Silver status


UA becomes Certified Bee Campus USA

UA is awarded AASHE STARS Gold

A composting program for all dining halls is established


The University of Arkansas Resiliency Center is established within Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design.

VeoRide Bike Share system is launched


First Community Resilience Assessment is published


Campus features

water bike farm buildigns chp bio

Registered Student Organizations