recycling containerThe U of A Office for Sustainability empowers students, faculty, and staff to explore sustainability strategies throughout the campus community. The Office for Sustainability (OFS) was established in 2007 when the University of Arkansas signed the American college and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) to be carbon neutral by 2040. The OFS leadership team includes Executive Director Marty Matlock, Ph.D., P.E., B.C.E.E., professor of Biological and Agricultural Engineering; Academic Director Steve Boss, Ph.D., Professor of Geosciences; Director Carlos Ochoa, and Administrative Specialist Cassandra Gronendyke. The OFS is a combined administrative unit of the Provost’s Office and the Office of Facilities Management. Housed in the historic Sustainability House at 238 Harmon Avenue, the OFS is centrally located on the U of A campus, providing a venue for engaging students, faculty, and the community.

The mission of the OFS is to coordinate and implement sustainability programs across the U of A campus. The University of Arkansas Sustainability Council (UASC) provides a multi-stakeholder platform for review of activities and development of program strategies to the OFS. The UASC comprises representatives from all academic units, students, staff, and the City of Fayetteville. The UASC is organized by workgroups focusing on activities for the U of A’s Built, Managed, Social, and Natural systems. The UASC reviews and approves all sustainability program recommendations from the OFS to the Office of the Provost.