Sustainability Minor

The Foundations of Sustainability Minor is an 18-credit program open to all undergraduate students at the University of Arkansas. Because it is interdisciplinary, drawing from faculty and courses across all colleges and schools at the U of A, the minor  enhances and reflects each student's individual academic and career interests. The purpose of the minor in sustainability is to provide foundational knowledge and skills related to the emerging discipline of sustainability and to prepare students to become innovators within their diverse fields. The program is organized around the four interdisciplinary systems areas.


The course requirements for the sustainability minor are listed in the table below. All courses must be passed with a grade of 'C' or better in order to fulfill these requirements. View the full list of elective courses with their descriptions.


SUST 1103 Foundations of Sustainability 3
SUST 2103 Applications of Sustainability 3
SUST 4103 Capstone Experience in Sustainability 3
Tier 1 Elective 3
Tier 1 Elective 3
Tier 1 or 2 Elective 3
 Total Credit Hours:

Declaring the Minor

If you would like to declare the Foundations of Sustainability minor, print the sustainability minor checklist or pick up a copy at the Office for Sustainability. You will need to meet with your major advisor to ensure you understand how it will fit into your degree plan, and meet with the Coordinator of Academic Sustainability, professor David Hyatt, to ensure you understand the requirements. Once the form is completed, please return it to Melinda Smith at or in Vol Walker Hall.

If you are in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, you must also visit the Dean's Office in Old Main 525 to fill out a college-specific Change of Major/Minor form.