Dr. Marty Matlock, Executive Director

Dr. Matlock is Executive Director of the UA Office for Sustainability and Professor in the Biological and Agricultural Engineering Department at the University of Arkansas. He received his Ph.D. in Biosystems Engineering from Oklahoma State University in 1996, is a registered professional engineer, a Board Certified Environmental Engineer, and a Certified Ecosystem Designer. Dr. Matlock has authored three books, more than 30 peer reviewed manuscripts, and has been awarded two US patents and five international patents. The focus of Dr. Matlock’s research is metrics that inform practices in sustainable design. He evaluates processes at local to global scale to develop technologies and processes to increase the resilience and effectiveness of human-dominated ecosystems. His work encompasses urban, agricultural, and rural systems. Projects focusing on urban and rural ecosystem restoration in collaboration with the UA Community Design Center have been recognized by the leading organizations in architecture, landscape architecture, and sustainable design with 22 national and international awards over the past eight years. He coordinates academic, research, outreach, and facilities efforts in sustainable systems across campus, and has led four international, three national, and two regional sustainability initiatives. He serves as Chair of the Cherokee Nation Environmental Protection Commission, and as science advisor for sustainability for 12 food and agricultural product companies.


Carlos Ochoa, Director

Carlos Ochoa was hired in the fall of 2012 as the director of the Office for Sustainability.  He received his undergraduate and graduate degree in cultural anthropology from the University of Arkansas in 2007 and 2009.  Carlos serves as the administrative secretary for the University of Arkansas Sustainability Council and helps manage the five workgroups. Carlos is the staff liason for the Sustainability Living Learning Community in University Housing and mentors rising student sustainability leaders on campus.

His specific interests are in culture, mycology and strategic planning for campus sustainability.